The Fiscy Awards to Honor Elected Officials for Fiscal Leadership

For Immediate Release

Awards Committee Comprised of Comeback America Initiative, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and Concord Coalition

WASHINGTON, D.C., December 9, 2010 – Announced today, the non-partisan Fiscy Awards will increase awareness of America’s $13.8 trillion federal debt and multi-year trillion dollar deficits by honoring three elected officials for their fiscal leadership. Passport Capital is organizing the Awards. The Comeback America Initiative, the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and the Concord Coalition will serve as the Awards Committee.  

An open-press event honoring two federal elected officials and one state or local elected official, the inaugural Fiscy Awards will take place on Wednesday, January 5, 2011 at 6:45 p.m. EST at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.

The Fiscy Awards Committee will announce the award recipients later this month.  The January 5th event will include remarks by each Fiscy Award recipient, followed by a panel discussion among the Awards Committee members.  Ticket information is available at

Fiscy Awards Committee Members:

  • The Honorable David Walker, Founder, President and CEO, the Comeback America Initiative and Former U.S. Comptroller General
  • Maya MacGuineas, President, the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget
  • Robert Bixby, Executive Director, the Concord Coalition


“Our nation faces serious structural deficits at all levels of government and the American people are concerned. The time has come to initiate an award for elected leaders who are taking actions designed to promote fiscal responsibility at both the federal and state level. The inaugural Fiscy Awards will be given to highly deserving elected officials with significant achievements in promoting and practicing fiscal responsibility. I am honored to be a member of the Awards Committee who will select these individuals,” said Walker.

“Change will not come without leadership. While many politicians have not been eager to embrace the types of policy changes needed to get our fiscal house in order, it is important that we recognize those who have. We hope that more policymakers will follow suit, and that in fiscal year 2011, we’ll have even more to celebrate,” said MacGuineas.

“Political leaders often lament the shameful state of our nation's finances without saying what they would do about it. The Fiscy Awards will recognize a select few who have the courage to propose solutions. While neither party bears the full responsibility for creating the problem they share the responsibility for solving it. We hope that giving this award to some who have shown leadership will encourage others to join in this critical effort,” said Bixby.

What: The Fiscy Awards: Awarding outstanding service for FY 2010

When: Wednesday, January 5, 2011, 6:45 p.m. EST

Where:  Newseuum
            555 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
            Washington, D.C. 20001

Note:   Media interested in attending must RSVP to Jen Driscoll at



About the Awards Committee:

The Comeback America Initiative (CAI) promotes fiscal responsibility and sustainability by engaging the public and assisting key policymakers on a non-partisan basis in order to achieve solutions to America’s fiscal imbalances. CAI's primary focus will be federal fiscal issues; however, it will also highlight the larger national fiscal challenge (i.e., federal, state and local) and will engage in selected state and local reform initiatives (e.g., pension, health and tax reforms).

Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget is a bipartisan, non-profit organization committed to educating the public about issues that have significant fiscal policy impact. The Committee is made up of some of the nation's leading budget experts including many of the past Directors of the Budget Committees, the Congressional Budget Office, the Office of Management and Budget and the Federal Reserve Board. For more information, visit

The Concord Coalition is a national, grassroots organization dedicated to fiscal responsibility. Former U.S. Senators Warren B. Rudman (R-NH) and Bob Kerrey (D-NE) serve as its co-chairs and former U.S. Secretary of Commerce Peter G. Peterson serves as president. For more information, visit 

About Passport Capital:

Passport Capital LLC is a San Francisco based, global investment firm founded by John H. Burbank III in 2000. The firm manages approximately $3.8 billion in assets. Passport's investment process uses a combination of macroeconomic analyses to develop major themes and rigorous fundamental research on individual companies to create global portfolios. For more information, visit


For Immediate Release

 Contact: Jennifer Driscoll